Inspiration for Creatives

As a creative person, I realize that I can sometimes be a bit how do we say “emotional” when it comes to well pretty much anything.  Erkyah Badu so accurately states why I feel this way on her live version of “Tyrone” when so simply says:

a1aa5f1c30c3b0cccd612443b7ab2a4c

Also as an artist I realize there are times when my mind is over flooded with so many ideas.  Sometimes it is hard to determine which idea I should move forward with and which ones I should shelve.  Usually, I want to work on everything and admittedly that doesn’t always work for me.  For some reason, writing a script, editing a book, writing a blog, and producing a short at the same time is not productive.  You can do it but there will be a lot of dropped balls.   So when I came across a quote from Steve Jobs, it made me stop and think.  I had what Oprah would call an “a-ha moment.”

People think focus means saying yes to the thing you’ve got to focus on. But that’s not what it means at all. It means saying no to the hundred other good ideas that there are. You have to pick carefully. I’m actually as proud of the things we haven’t done as the things I have done. Innovation is saying “no” to 1,000 things.

Basically— concentrate your focus in order to do something great instead of many things “good”.  What? Was this man a monk?  He basically spoke in proverbs!  Now if only he left a clue on how to choose the 1,000 things to say no to…

 

 

Leave a Reply

